An Angel

An Angel

According to dictionary.com, an angel is a messenger, especially of God. Today, at church, I experienced an angel.

He came dressed in a soiled tan shirt, with torn jeans, salt and pepper spotted hair, bare in the middle, and a heart for God. I don’t know if I ever received such a message than the one that Aaron delivered to me today during my worship with Christ. I sat and I cried and I prayed and I repented and I wondered and I watched…

Watched this angel raise his hands in reverence, run to the altar for prayer, dart to the front for salvation. My heart felt heavy because week after week I come to church and try to look my most dignified, invite no one, embrace no one, and soak up a word for myself. A selfish fat cat in the house of God.

Lord forgive me.

Leave a Reply

