Its been a while.

Who picks out the images on my WordPress site? They are awesome. Today- a picture of an acorn atop a stone block. Seriously, I’m in love with it. I want it in my home. When I move…(soon) I’m going to take pictures and frame them. They will be my home decor, then my thrift store donation. A few may even be my memoirs passed to my kids and their kids. #grannygoals

Poem:

If someone tells you you are not beautiful because you are black
They are either ignorant
or jealous
There is no third category

Black is the color of coal
It warms
The color of night
It gives us rest
The absences of light
perspective

Black is the shade of …
Black lungs. They are a band. They seem terrible. Black is honest.

Black hands fed me.
Black labor clothed me.
Black love holds me.

Black black black black

Its not offensive or dismissive or subservientsive
Black people make up words
Black is creative

Black is high
Black is low
Black is ice
Black is snow (black snow needs love too)

What I’m trying to say
If they don’t get it.
They.
Don’t.
Get.
It.
Keep “it” for the ones that do.

If someone tells you you are not beautiful because you are black
They are either ignorant
or jealous
Make no room for either.
Feel no obligation to be, or convince, or dumb down your blackness.
Just
Be
Black

by: a black girl from Waynesville

Leave a Reply

